in with the old.

Closet Stories

I started this blog because of a commitment to myself to not buy any new clothes for the next year. The commitment came first and then I thought – there must be some kindred spirits out there with the same sentiments.

I have to be perfectly honest and tell you – it actually has not been that hard. I can’t believe it though! I was in H&M every other week buying some new top or necklace or scarf – whatever – and now, I have no desire. Literally, none.

I would catch myself at work perusing my go-to shoppings sites every hour if I was in a slow period.  I would build a massive cart – just for fun, think about it, usually not buy anything, but if there was something I wanted I might dwell on it for a few days, finally buy something, but not nearly close to what I had built my “dream cart” out of….thinking back on that – what a freakin’ waste of time! All the back and forth trying to decide what to buy, what not to buy….sheesh. What a relief I don’t have to do THAT anymore.

One positive thing that’s happened so far is that I find myself becoming more resourceful with my closet. The old has sort of become new again. I’ve also found myself accessorizing a bit more – using vintage scarves from my mom’s collection, changing my bags more often and getting more creative with what I already have. I’m really looking forward to the season change because then it will really be like having a whole new wardrobe!

Stay tuned for some revamps of old things over the next couple of weeks – I plan on diving into my closet this weekend – looking for promise and to reboot!

TGIF bros.

Leave a comment